Posted by: M. Barton | June 23, 2012

Rosetta Stones has moved on

If anyone’s looking for the old Rosetta Stones blog, I’ve moved on. I hadn’t updated it in several years, and my writing and photography have come a long away in the interim. Since my new blog has a different focus, I made all the old posts private.

You can find me now at Nature Odes, where I will be blogging primarily about the natural world around me (and only occasionally topical science news).

If you’re looking for the post about bees and ultraviolet flower photography that was, somewhat puzzlingly, my most popular post, I have reposted it at See Like A Bee: Ultraviolet Flower Photography.

If for some reason you really miss one of my old posts and would like me to repost it, as I have with the ultraviolet flower photography post, drop me a comment and I will strongly consider it.

Responses

  1. Hi, something has happened to your blog and all the pages are gone :-(

    I really liked your bit on ultraviolet flower photos, what bees see and linked to it from our blog.

    yours

    Nick

    • Hi, there–I decided since I had let the blog sit so long and my interests had changed to reboot it with a different focus. I made all the old posts private to start fresh; I didn’t really think anyone would notice.

      My new blog is at http://natureodes.wordpress.com, and I’ve reposted the ultraviolet flower photos post here: http://natureodes.wordpress.com/2012/06/25/see-like-a-bee-ultraviolet-flower-photography-2/

      (I am thinking of doing a follow-up with some more science later this summer, if I can find some crab spiders.)

      • That sounds super, people at our bee group were so interested by those pictures… As a result I’ve had a thought to draw symbols in UV paint on my bee hive entrances and landing boards to help prevent drifting.

        Blogging is funny, I always think nobody is looking at mine because of the lack of comments / traffic, but then you change something and people say ‘what happened’ ! Which is nice :-)

        all the best with the new site

    • As a result I’ve had a thought to draw symbols in UV paint on my bee hive entrances and landing boards to help prevent drifting.

      Oh, that’s a really interesting idea! I’ve come across some more about bees and UV-visible markings (in relationship to crab spiders, which are predators of bees), so I’d be very curious whether that made a difference. If you try it, I’d love to know how it works out!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

